The Mohs scale of hardness is a system developed by German geologist and mineralogist Friedrich Mohs in 1812 to measure the hardness of stones. The Mohs scale assigns a numerical value to a mineral’s ability to resist scratching, ranging from 1 to 10. It is commonly used by geologists and mineralogists to help identify unknown gemstones, as well as by jewelers, lapidaries, and scientists in other related fields. In this blog post, we will explore the mohs scale of hardness in more detail, including its history and how it is used today.


Mohs scale is commonly used in the jewelry industry since the hardness of a gemstone affects how it can be cut, polished, and set into jewelry. In addition, these stones can be identified by how easily they can be scratched by objects of known hardness. For example, if an object scratches a mineral easily, it is likely to be lower on the Mohs scale than that mineral.

Overall, the mohs scale of hardness provides a convenient way to measure and compare the hardness of various stones, making it an important tool for many industries. It ranges from 1 to 10, with talc having a rating of 1, meaning it is very soft and easily scratched or worn away. On the other hand, diamonds have a rating of 10, meaning they are incredibly hard and durable. Anything between these two ratings can also be tested using this scale. Additionally, different materials have their own hardness tests; for instance, wood has its own scale while metals have another.


One way to identify the hardness ofstones is by using the scratch test. In this test, a mineral is scratched with a sample of known hardness. If the sample scratches the stone, then it is softer than the sample; if it does not scratch, then it is harder than the sample. A pocket knife or steel nail can be used as a sample of known hardness.

Another way to identify the hardness is by using an instrument called a sclerometer. This device measures the hardness of a material by pressing it against the surface of a mineral and measuring the force needed to make an indentation in it. This technique is precise and gives an exact numerical value that corresponds to the hardness on the Mohs scale.

By using one of these methods, you can easily identify the hardness ofstones and compare it to other stones on the Mohs scale. Knowing this information can be very useful when buying gemstonesand understanding the properties of different minerals.


On the Mohs scale, each gem is assigned a number between 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the hardest. You can see this chart to find the Mohs scale of gemstones.

The Mohs Scale of Hardness

The Mohs scale is an important tool for gemologists, geologists, and jewelers alike. It helps to identify the hardness of gemstones and allows them to be judged according to their durability and resilience.

At GemsBiz we offer a variety of natural gemstones, gemstone beads, and gemstone cabochons that can be used in jewelry-making and other creative projects. You can find everything from faceted stones to round beads, as well as cabochons in various sizes. All of our gemstones are of high quality and are sourced from ethical sources.

So if you're looking to buy natural gemstones, beads, or cabochons, head over to to find the perfect gems for your project!

Shop Natural Gemstones & Beads

Explore More

Comments (0)

No comments at this moment

New comment

You are replying to a comment

Product added to wishlist
Product added to compare.